Holistic Healing for Horses

Holistic medicine is considered voodoo by some, but others swear by it. This particular energy healing is backed by Linda Tellington-Jones, who helped design their new horse energy-blanket. This may not surprise anyone as she of course initiated the now-famous Tellington Touch within the equine world.

Despite this stellar endorsement, the company representative Vicki Duggan explained to me that she “hasn’t had a lot of luck with horse people.”

energy healing

“Well,” I said. “Horse folks can be kind of traditional. They can be interested in centurys-old, tried-and-true techniques. But everyone still figures out their own way of doing things. So they may be open to the whole idea once they see how it works.”

Just like the Tellington Touch, this method has wider applications. It is called the Bemer but I’m not supposed to say that. Why not? You have to call it something. Anyway, here is a link to the website: Simplybehealthy.bemergroup.com.

The original treatment was for people, but they have come out with a horse blanket — which is so new it was just released in December. Clifford became acquainted with associate Vicki Duggan at the Novi Equestrian Expo in November, where he had a couple of (pre-horse blanket) treatments — during which he fell asleep — and there was a noticeable change in him afterwards. He felt better. Heck, it’s hard on the joints when you stand around and walk around on cement all weekend. Especially when you are a 26-year-old horse with arthritis.

beemer

So today she came out to the farm and put the battery-operated blanket on him for twenty minutes. She also wrapped his knee.

The treatment is reputed to boost performance, help with concentration, and ease pain.

Perhaps the most important thing this treatment does is to increase the blood flow into extremities and other areas that may not be the priority for blood flow.

When you think about increased blood flow, you start to realize the implications. Increased oxygen. Increased immunity. Increased shedding of toxins. And a whole host of other benefits.

Vicki had some astonishing anecdotes about people, athletes who had used this and outperformed themselves.

I told Vicki that one reason the race horse Secretariat was so successful was (besides his magnificent spirit) an enlarged heart. I immediately related that to the benefits of increased blood flow.

I have suffered with pain in my tendons since blowing my Achilles several years ago. My feet have never been the same. When your feet are wrecked, it really inhibits your lifestyle. So I gave the treatment a try and will report back on how it works.

Meanwhile, as I sat in the chair having my back energized, Clifford left his grassy spot to come frisking over like a two year old pony.

Hmmm…..

energy healing2.jpg

About Nancy J. Bailey

Artist, author, bad karaoke singer. Woodsy ragamuffin. Mom of a horse named Clifford who plays fetch and paints with watercolors. He visits libraries and schools with me, to promote literacy and making the world a better place. Yes, he is house trained, no, he doesn't live in my house! I have written three books about Clifford. But my newest book, THE NORTH SIDE OF DOWN, is co-written by my awesome sister Amanda, who has Down syndrome. Her unexpected one-liner wisecracks can always make me laugh. If you make me laugh, you've made my day!
This entry was posted in Clifford, empathy, horse, horses and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

