Bailey’s Boot Camp for Dogs – Timid Puppy – Day 2

I’ve always said that people with Golden Retrievers don’t know how easy they have it. These dogs train themselves. Poodles are pretty much the same. I would imagine that a cross between the two would be heaven for a behaviorist.

This puppy is 3 quarters miniature poodle and 1/4 Golden. She’s about eight pounds now and I expect may double that.

She has begun to reveal a playful and lively nature, and is as sweet and cooperative as her breeding suggests.

puppy.jpg

Today she overcame the dodging habit although she still has a tendency to back or scramble away when approached. However, she will come to me now when I put my hand down.

We went to the feed store and I bought her a harness and tried that on her. My intent was to walk her into the store, as she had followed me around the house and yard consistently.

But the harness proved to be a big deal. She just planted all four feet. Rather than carry her, or drag her around the store, I employed the help of Til, my border collie.

Sure enough, the prospect of going with another leashed dog did the trick. We walked up and down the store aisles and she had no objection of trotting along with us. She allowed petting by various people and earned a couple of cookies.

Now that she has experienced this, with Til’s help, in the future when she goes alone she will handle it much better.

I am getting the basic socializing and harness/leash stuff out of the way before I start getting too serious about house training and teaching basic obedience or tricks. These first days, I am just letting her be a dog, letting her see that it’s all okay and she is safe.

I wish that more people understood the importance of getting small puppies out of the house. It is so easy to prevent future problems with leash pulling and coming when called. You can prevent dog bites and dog fighting this way. Make the commitment to take your dog out of the house every single day. Have him ride in the car in his crate, every day. Do a leash walk every day. Have him meet three new people a day. Take him through automatic doors and on tile and wood floors and concrete. Take him on stairs and in elevators. Until he is four months old, work hard at it, and you will save yourself so much trouble in the years to come.

25 Ways

About Nancy J. Bailey

Artist, author, bad karaoke singer. Woodsy ragamuffin. Mom of a horse named Clifford who plays fetch and paints with watercolors. He visits libraries and schools with me, to promote literacy and making the world a better place. Yes, he is house trained, no, he doesn't live in my house! I have written three books about Clifford. But my newest book, THE NORTH SIDE OF DOWN, is co-written by my awesome sister Amanda, who has Down syndrome. Her unexpected one-liner wisecracks can always make me laugh. If you make me laugh, you've made my day!
This entry was posted in clicker training, dog, dogs, empathy, puppy, training and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

