Alternative Facts — The Guardianship Takeover

There is a rumor floating around that I am trying to “take over” Amanda’s guardianship.

One of the biggest problems within this family is the constant spreading of “alternative facts.”

However, you need to get your information straight. It’s not really that complicated. I am sure if you concentrate, you will begin to comprehend the difference.

I have never applied for guardianship.

I have petitioned the court, 3 times now, to AMEND the current guardianship to give Amanda more control over her life.

You have labeled yourselves as “victims.”

You are not “victims.” You are all able-bodied adults.

The only “victim” here is Amanda. She is being victimized by the system, and by her current guardian.

13912655_593895217455252_1694558291293757671_n

My goal was to change Amanda’s guardianship situation to one of “supported decision-making.”

This would enable Amanda to call and visit her family members without being used as a pawn in someone else’s agenda. That’s right, people! I said, “family members.” Not just me. That means that you too could benefit from this amendment! She would be free to maintain her own relationships, as she has done for 43 years. There is no reason for her to be censored, monitored, shadowed and harassed.

This would also mean that she could call someone for help or to come and pick her up, should she, say, get stuck with some sibling who is behaving badly.

Furthermore, whether her case moves to Arizona or not doesn’t make any difference. Amanda is still entitled to basic human rights no matter where she lives. She may actually be treated better in Arizona courts than she was here. For that, I would be grateful. For the record, I did not object to this transfer when I was asked about it on May 2.

In my petitions I have asked to have the ALTERNATE guardian removed and replaced by myself, which was Amanda’s wish. This is due to past abuse of Amanda by the alternate guardian, which includes but is not limited to threatening her with a foster home, disabling her TV, threatening her physically, yelling, isolating her, involving the police and forcing them to interview her about a day she went to the movies with me, commandeering her finances, and other crazy, dangerous and frightening behaviors.

I have not attempted to replace or remove the PLENARY guardian. (Plenary is a big word, but it means “numero uno” or “primary” guardian.)

This is despite a whole host of issues including, but not limited to, cutting Amanda off and not allowing her to contact her family members for a period of nine months, or visit them on extended trips, despite the fact that she wanted to go and she was welcome.

It saddens me that the plenary guardian has gotten sucked into these same techniques employed by his siblings. But I cannot reverse his descent into that realm. Therefore, as he suggested, my only other option has been to petition the courts.

Remember that when you go low, Amanda and I go high. Our award-winning book, “The North Side of Down” is a pretty good example of what happens when facts need to be clarified. There is documentation to back our facts. Documentation is another big word. It means “written proof.”

North with BRAG

My petitions have been denied all three times, each without the court ever allowing Amanda one word of opinion on the matter.

I just want to clarify this again. If you look at the court documents you can see for yourself how the forms are filled out. You should have been mailed your own copy. (An X or check mark in a box indicates what the petition is about.)

I want it to go on record that, while I do not approve of the way Amanda is being treated, I have NOT EVER filed for guardianship of Amanda.

Yet.

Thanks so much for your fervent concern over the welfare of our sister, Amanda, and me.

I am grateful for the sudden interest in her — since before the death of her parents, she wasn’t the topic of much focus and had plenty of free time to hang out with me. No conflicts then!

Oh, and I am sure you are merely overlooking everything I have done for every one of you. This includes lending you money, shelter, food, clothing, moral support, expensive gifts, and not to mention the years of care and effort I put into my mom and dad and Amanda. But this is probably just an oversight on your part, and the spirit of gratitude actually prevails.

So, you’re welcome.

In the meantime, if you get any more court documents, you should probably look em over and see what boxes are checked before jumping to conclusions. If you can’t understand the documents, might want to run them past the county clerk — or even a grocery store clerk, or maybe even a homeless person on a corner somewhere — and have them explain it to you.

Take care.

http://www.stopguardianabuse.org

About Nancy J. Bailey

Artist, author, bad karaoke singer. Woodsy ragamuffin. Mom of a horse named Clifford who plays fetch and paints with watercolors. He visits libraries and schools with me, to promote literacy and making the world a better place. Yes, he is house trained, no, he doesn't live in my house! I have written three books about Clifford. But my newest book, THE NORTH SIDE OF DOWN, is co-written by my awesome sister Amanda, who has Down syndrome. Her unexpected one-liner wisecracks can always make me laugh. If you make me laugh, you've made my day!
This entry was posted in empathy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

