Amanda Portrait Day 27 – Watercolor – Modeling on the Boat

Amanda Day 27a.jpg

Amanda and I like to go shopping. A lot. Well, I like it better than she does. I have spent literally years dressing her, going back to the days when she was in school and had cool new clothes every year.

She’s so cute it was fun outfitting her. To her, it was a big hassle. Plus, she had her favorites. She will wear the same old thing, over and over, for days on end. But once in awhile, she gets excited about something new.

She especially loves animal prints — designs with leopard spots or snakeskin. So when I found this blouse, I hit the jackpot.

The ferry boat makes the perfect wind for modeling!

Amanda has Down syndrome and is currently being held by her guardian, a sibling who is not allowing us to have contact. On April 27 it will be 9 months since I have spoken with my sister. I am doing a portrait of her every day until I hear from Amanda… Or until our court date on May 2.

“I’m the guardian and you’re not.” That’s the reason her guardian gave when he refused Amanda’s request to visit me in summer 2016.

A few warning signals of guardianship abuse:

1. The guardian and/or conservator treats you as an outsider instead of a relative, friend, or loved one.

2. The guardian/conservator sees to it that your loved one doesn’t have a phone.

3. When you visit, the guardian “hovers” or even employs someone to hover so you’re not alone with your loved one.

4. You are denied input about your loved one’s care – the doctor won’t talk to you – you are shut out.

5. The guardian/conservator refuses to take your call or answer your questions.

6. Your loved one doesn’t get his/her mail.

7. If your loved one is in a nursing home, you’re only allowed to visit in the dining room or recreation room.

8. You start seeing questionable documents and realize financial accounts are closed or changed and the statements have been diverted to the guardian/conservator.

9. You discover the taxes haven’t been paid — or even filed.

10. The nursing facility tells you when you visit, you “upset” your family member or upset the staff.

11. Items are missing from your loved one’s home.

12. Your loved one appears to be more sluggish, perhaps even dazed.

The days of guardians running the show are coming to an end. There is help available.  Click the link below:

http://www.stopguardianabuse.org

About Nancy J. Bailey

Artist, author, bad karaoke singer. Woodsy ragamuffin. Mom of a horse named Clifford who plays fetch and paints with watercolors. He visits libraries and schools with me, to promote literacy and making the world a better place. Yes, he is house trained, no, he doesn't live in my house! I have written three books about Clifford. But my newest book, THE NORTH SIDE OF DOWN, is co-written by my awesome sister Amanda, who has Down syndrome. Her unexpected one-liner wisecracks can always make me laugh. If you make me laugh, you've made my day!
This entry was posted in empathy, watercolor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

