“The Holiday”

 

11-the-holiday.jpg

columbia pictures

 

I own this movie. But it’s on Lifetime and I can’t look away. Why IS that?!

I have evaluated and reevaluated why these certain bits of slush are welcome to replay in my head, over and over. They are all romantic comedies — the kind Hollywood doesn’t make anymore. Larry Crowne. Sleepless In Seattle. Runaway Bride.

The characters are impossibly good looking. The humor is light-hearted. There are villains, but nothing really bad happens. And in the end, people wind up where they are supposed to be. Life isn’t easy, but it always works out. Good is good, and evil is evil.

In “The Holiday”, I am in love with Cameron Diaz’s coats. They have big sherpa collars. I wonder how she ever fit so many of them into her luggage. P.S. You can’t find these coats on sale anywhere. I have looked.

 

Iriss-English-cottage-in-the-Holiday-Cameron-Diaz.jpg

columbia pictures

 

I don’t worry about why Kate Winslet left her dog with a complete stranger. The home is one thing. But the DOG?

There’s nothing better than a rom-com, unless it’s a British rom-com, complete with Kate Winslet shouting things like, “Bullox!”

holiday.jpg

One doesn’t think of Jack  Black as a leading man. But he’s really irresistible, especially in the video store. Totally brill.

And the “boob graze”, which in retrospect I’m pretty sure was an accidental ad-lib.

Jude Law is… Well, Jude Law. And even better, sometimes he is Jude Law with glasses.

6-The-Holiday-quotes.gif

I don’t know why these movies always manage to spirit me back to the same place. Maybe there’s some comfort in repetition — the same reason I like to go back to the same beaches and shores, the same trails in the woods, time and again. The comfort is in the familiar, but there is always something I didn’t notice before.

Even my explanation seems overly simplistic.

That must be it.

“…..in the movies we have leading ladies and we have the best friend. You, I can tell, are a leading lady, but for some reason you are behaving like the best friend.”

About Nancy J. Bailey

Artist, author, bad karaoke singer. Woodsy ragamuffin. Mom of a horse named Clifford who plays fetch and paints with watercolors. He visits libraries and schools with me, to promote literacy and making the world a better place. Yes, he is house trained, no, he doesn't live in my house! I have written three books about Clifford. But my newest book, THE NORTH SIDE OF DOWN, is co-written by my awesome sister Amanda, who has Down syndrome. Her unexpected one-liner wisecracks can always make me laugh. If you make me laugh, you've made my day!
This entry was posted in empathy, movies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

