Movie Review – Get Out

 

getout.jpg

Photo courtesy of Blumhouse Productions, QC Entertainment

A strange thing happened last night when I decided to get out of the house. It had been a rough day, calling for an escape to the movies. My first choice was,”The Zookeepers Wife”, but that wasn’t available, so I opted for the Jake Gyllenhaal film about Mars, called, “Life.”

But when I went to pay for my ticket, the attendee, who was tall with curly hair and a self-assured dimple, paused before ringing me up. “Are you SURE you want to see ‘Life’?”

 

“Eh?” I was a little taken off guard. But someone with a dimple like a comma in the side of his face had to know what he was talking about. Nobody that cutely punctuated can be lacking in confidence.

“Well, it’s just that it’s getting terrible reviews. People are coming out wanting their money back.”

“Oh! I didn’t realize.” I always check reviews before I go to the movies. This time, I hadn’t. Plus, I was arriving halfway through the previews. I didn’t like to miss previews. “What else is playing? I don’t want to see horror.”

“Well, there is this other one, ‘Get Out.’ It’s really good.”

“Who’s in it?”

“Well, it’s not a big name movie. But have you heard of the director, Jordan Peele?”

Jordan Peele. “The Gift.” “Insidious.” Thrillers that were smart, but I hadn’t seen any of them. Not my first choice, but, what the heck. “Okay. Thanks for your honesty. I really appreciate it.”

An added bonus happened when the movie was sold to me at a discounted rate of $5.00. Ching. How can you beat that?

I arrived in plenty of time for the opening credits, and when Catherine Keener’s name rolled up on the screen, I knew I had been steered in the right direction.

“Get Out” is the story of an extremely likeable black man, Chris Washington (Daniel Kaluuya) going home with his white girlfriend (Allison Williams) to meet her parents for the first time. There’s a strong undercurrent of racism in the story, a satisfying collection of white, upper class wackos, and a surprising turn of wicked humor injected at the most unexpected moments. Chris’s situation starts out as vaguely creepy, and then escalates to a horrific level at a steady pace, with a few plot twists that are predictable, but some guaranteed surprises. The story is freshly horrifying without resorting to abject gore.

Get Out had me glued to the screen for the solid 1 hour and 44 minutes. I highly recommend it. This is the first time I can remember ever being talked out of one movie and into another. Thank you, insightful, ticket-selling, dimpled guy.

 

About Nancy J. Bailey

Artist, author, bad karaoke singer. Woodsy ragamuffin. Mom of a horse named Clifford who plays fetch and paints with watercolors. He visits libraries and schools with me, to promote literacy and making the world a better place. Yes, he is house trained, no, he doesn't live in my house! I have written three books about Clifford. But my newest book, THE NORTH SIDE OF DOWN, is co-written by my awesome sister Amanda, who has Down syndrome. Her unexpected one-liner wisecracks can always make me laugh. If you make me laugh, you've made my day!
This entry was posted in empathy, movies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

