Snakes! Why Did It Have To Be Snakes…

I like snakes so much that I was pretty excited to see one in my pond area today.

e0195d31-2035-42b0-b969-0585d9e3bb5a

I took a bunch of photos of it, a beautiful green and yellow-ish garter snake thicker than my thumb and over two feet long.

She wanted to go into the spillway.

4f06f3c9-c450-425b-a87f-e21d0bfe8681

What she did in the spillway was rather startling. So I made a video of her.

I refer to her as “her” because she is a big garter snake and I found out that larger ones tend to be female.

She spent quite a bit of time eyeing me, presumably to make sure I am safe.

6c97d259-4cb1-4a75-9ee4-ca974339850f

Unfortunately, I also learned that she will not consume bugs as I had hoped.

Instead she will eat all the frogs, if she hasn’t already, and also the toad I placed in the area a few days ago.

Worse, she will actually get into the water and swallow Tuna and the goldfish.

And, with a snake of her size, I actually don’t even know how safe the birds are.

8d35ea09-091f-4c95-b042-9b48ccb2961d

So I guess I can’t let her stay.

I have a lot of birds who like to play in the pond, including this dove who appeared while the snake was hanging around. She had her wings up — which I am thinking maybe is a way to make herself look bigger? Did she know the snake was there?

So I guess the snake has to go.

It kinda bums me out as she’s not very afraid of me, and it was so much fun watching her play in the spillway.

I have seen dogs do this, but never a snake.

About Nancy J. Bailey

Artist, author, bad karaoke singer. Woodsy ragamuffin. Mom of a horse named Clifford who plays fetch and paints with watercolors. He visits libraries and schools with me, to promote literacy and making the world a better place. Yes, he is house trained, no, he doesn't live in my house! I have written three books about Clifford. But my newest book, THE NORTH SIDE OF DOWN, is co-written by my awesome sister Amanda, who has Down syndrome. Her unexpected one-liner wisecracks can always make me laugh. If you make me laugh, you've made my day!
This entry was posted in empathy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Snakes! Why Did It Have To Be Snakes…

  1. Pingback: A Snake Called Narcissus | Diary of a Misplaced Yooper: Cliffy's Mom's Blog

Leave a Reply

