52 Elephants For Empathy: Day 2

I kicked off day 2 by designing this logo for my 52 Elephants idea, which is inspired by the Orlando shootings.

8b1f2d9b-e768-49f8-8d2e-5f72416d7e00

As I explained in yesterday’s post, my goal is to “make empathy cool again” — so I am offering free elephant art to those who need it.

I’m excited, because the response has been so enthusiastic!

People are offering to buy the elephants, but they are not for sale. They are free. But I will accept donations to help with shipping so that I don’t get overwhelmed and have to wait to send them all.

This isn’t a money-making scheme; it is an effort to encourage a peaceful way of thinking.

If we turn our brain away from what is wrong, and start thinking of ways that we can help, and creative ways to reach others in a gesture of support, we can change the world, a little at a time.

Today’s elephant is a mini slate: His name is “Clemency.”

ee clemency

This is from the Shamanic Journey site:

Elephant’s medicine includes strength, royalty, connection to ancient wisdom, removal of obstacles and barriers, confidence, patience, using education opportunities, commitment, gentleness, communicating in relationships, discernment, intelligence, compassion.”

About Nancy J. Bailey

Artist, author, bad karaoke singer. Woodsy ragamuffin. Mom of a horse named Clifford who plays fetch and paints with watercolors. He visits libraries and schools with me, to promote literacy and making the world a better place. Yes, he is house trained, no, he doesn't live in my house! I have written three books about Clifford. But my newest book, THE NORTH SIDE OF DOWN, is co-written by my awesome sister Amanda, who has Down syndrome. Her unexpected one-liner wisecracks can always make me laugh. If you make me laugh, you've made my day!
This entry was posted in art, empathy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

