Made to Order!

I can’t really describe how attached I get to my work, other than to say it’s like a dog breeder finding just the right home for a certain pup.  You pour your time and energy into a piece.  A bit of you goes into each one.  So there is beauty in a match.  You know your creation is in the right hands, and will be treasured and appreciated.

I have a few pieces that have slipped through the cracks and are still waiting for that special home.  Some of them I like so well that I don’t mind keeping.  These usually end up just part of my permanent collection and after enough time passes, I wouldn’t even consider selling them.

One of these in limbo pieces is my lady cardinal painting on slate.  Then yesterday I got this email:

I ran across your work as I was on the hunt for the “perfect” 6th wedding anniversary gift for my husband.  I absolutely fell in love with your bird slate paintings!  
A little back story…my husband and I just witnessed the 5th cardinal family make its home under our patio umbrella (yes, 5th!).  We were able to see the babies fly the nest this past Saturday.  This miracle of life that we have been able to watch 5 separate times has been very special to us both, as we have been trying to have a family of our own since we married 6 years ago on September 12th.  I have a very special place in my heart for these wonderful creatures, as they seem to give me hope for having my own family in the future.
So…the “traditional” 6th wedding anniversary gift is either “candy” or “iron”.  Rather odd, but okay!  HA! 🙂  I thought how cool it would be to find something with a cardinal theme perhaps in wrought iron.  Well, after much searching, I stumbled upon the slate you did of a lady cardinal perched on top of a wrought iron fence in 2014.  It is perfect!
1779974_10151976915474671_1526346418_n
 She went on to ask if it wasn’t available, could I help her create one?  Then she immediately bought the painting and sent the payment in five minutes.
I wish I could clone this lady!  She is every artist’s dream — the perfect client!
So my little lady red bird will fly off to live with Stephanie and her hubby — I admit though, when she goes, I will feel a little bit of that artistic angst of separation.
About Nancy J. Bailey

Artist, author, bad karaoke singer. Woodsy ragamuffin. Mom of a horse named Clifford who plays fetch and paints with watercolors. He visits libraries and schools with me, to promote literacy and making the world a better place. Yes, he is house trained, no, he doesn't live in my house! I have written three books about Clifford. But my newest book, THE NORTH SIDE OF DOWN, is co-written by my awesome sister Amanda, who has Down syndrome. Her unexpected one-liner wisecracks can always make me laugh. If you make me laugh, you've made my day!
This entry was posted in animals, art, birds, cardinal, slate, wildlife and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

