Pet Star of the Week: Jinx, a Border Collie

jinxslateJinx was a fun subject.  A dynamic sport dog active in disc and dock diving, his owner gave me free rein to choose whatever picture I wanted.  It was a bit of difficult choice, because Stephanie’s pictures were excellent quality and Jinx just ekes character.

I ended up using his dock diving photo.

jnxslate“He is my third dog from the same breeder (Kandu Border Collies),” Stephanie wrote.

“I was actually supposed to get a different puppy. When I went to meet the puppy I was supposed to have, his breeder said she didn’t think he would be the best fit for me. She knows that I like to do things with my dogs, and the original puppy just didn’t really care too much about people. Someone had backed out of taking Jinx at the last minute, and she said his quirky personality and zest for life would be perfect for me. After knowing her for 12 years, I trusted her and agreed to take him instead. He has a lot of “BC” quirks that my other dogs didn’t have and is very sensitive.  I had to completely change how I trained him. He is very stubborn, but wants nothing more to please me. 7 months after I brought him home I lost my other BC, Brooks, to blastomycosis.  That is when Jinxs’ happy go lucky attitude and love of life really showed and helped my heart heal.

“I have competed in dock diving and frisbee for years, and was excited to see how he would do in both of those sports. He competed in him first dock diving event at 8 months old and made the novice finals. He is obsessed with both the water and frisbees!  We have also tried lure coursing but that one is hard for him since he has to be away from me. We spend our summers traveling to dock diving and frisbee events and going to the dog beach and our winters hiking in forest preserves.

jinx

“He is a very spunky, crazy little guy. He has an incredible love of life that, as I said, is second to none!  He loves everyone he meets and has to “climb” up on you to say hi. If you sneeze he has to come and make sure you are ok as well. Not sure why, but has always been that way!  He turns 4 next month and I couldn’t imagine my life without him, quirks and all.”

jnx3

About Nancy J. Bailey

Artist, author, bad karaoke singer. Woodsy ragamuffin. Mom of a horse named Clifford who plays fetch and paints with watercolors. He visits libraries and schools with me, to promote literacy and making the world a better place. Yes, he is house trained, no, he doesn't live in my house! I have written three books about Clifford. But my newest book, THE NORTH SIDE OF DOWN, is co-written by my awesome sister Amanda, who has Down syndrome. Her unexpected one-liner wisecracks can always make me laugh. If you make me laugh, you've made my day!
This entry was posted in acrylic, art, border collie, dog, dog art, dogs, frisbee, painting, slate, training and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

