Winter Wolf

Someone posted a photo of a black wolf crossing the ice near my hometown yesterday in Michigan’s Eastern Upper Peninsula.  It inspired this painting.  The canvas is small, only 9×12″, so the wolf is done in very tiny detail.  Wolves are considered a threat to livestock and house pets, but they mean so many good things for the environment.  I’ve heard them at night, but have never actually seen one this close to home.
 
This painting is really all about the sky and the burgeoning snowstorm.  The Eastern UP has its own definition of wild beauty, even in the depths of winter.  I wanted to show the flat landscape, the cold, the icy shore, the moody sky. 
 
The camera didn’t negotiate with yellow very well — they are blended better in reality.  I may touch it up some more.

About Nancy J. Bailey

Artist, author, bad karaoke singer. Woodsy ragamuffin. Mom of a horse named Clifford who plays fetch and paints with watercolors. He visits libraries and schools with me, to promote literacy and making the world a better place. Yes, he is house trained, no, he doesn't live in my house! I have written three books about Clifford. But my newest book, THE NORTH SIDE OF DOWN, is co-written by my awesome sister Amanda, who has Down syndrome. Her unexpected one-liner wisecracks can always make me laugh. If you make me laugh, you've made my day!
This entry was posted in acrylic, art, Michigan, wildlife, winter, wolf. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

