Today’s Equine Art – Mare and Foal in Pencil

An intimate moment passes between a mare and her foal. I love the shapes in this drawing. The foal is at its most vulnerable, and only a portion of the mare is shown to illustrate her size in contrast, while she stands over the baby protectively. I tried to show how the light was hitting the foal softly, as it might through a stall window.

This is pencil and conte on grey charcoal paper, about 10 x 13″.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=180351827747

About Nancy J. Bailey

Artist, author, bad karaoke singer. Woodsy ragamuffin. Mom of a horse named Clifford who plays fetch and paints with watercolors. He visits libraries and schools with me, to promote literacy and making the world a better place. Yes, he is house trained, no, he doesn't live in my house! I have written three books about Clifford. But my newest book, THE NORTH SIDE OF DOWN, is co-written by my awesome sister Amanda, who has Down syndrome. Her unexpected one-liner wisecracks can always make me laugh. If you make me laugh, you've made my day!
This entry was posted in art, equine, foal, horse, mare, pencil. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Today’s Equine Art – Mare and Foal in Pencil

  1. GORGEOUS!

    Your art makes me want to write more horsey poetry.

    😉

    < HREF="http://themanepoint.blogspot.com/2009/04/derby-day-2009.html" REL="nofollow">DERBY DAY 2009<>

    Like

  2. This is beautiful. You’ve captured a sweet, intimate moment between the two.

    Cheryl
    http://www.cherylkugler.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

