Today’s Equine Art – Ruffian

I actually had some trouble with this project. I was a huge fan of Ruffian as a kid. I followed her career and kept a scrapbook of her. This is the first time since then that I have tried to do a picture of her. I hadn’t looked at pictures of her in years, and when I started going through them, I was weeping! It was like being a kid all over again.

She was a big, colorful character, larger than life. From a distance the painting looks like a black horse, but up close you will see a myriad of colors. I wanted the background colors to look pink, because she was a girl, but if you look closely, you will see that they are not really pink. I decided to paint her in the act of running, because that is how she seemed to thrive. She wanted to keep going even after she broke her leg. What an incredible spirit she was! I wonder now if she is the reason my first horse was a dark bay mare.

Pastel, 8×10″.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=180345522445

About Nancy J. Bailey

Artist, author, bad karaoke singer. Woodsy ragamuffin. Mom of a horse named Clifford who plays fetch and paints with watercolors. He visits libraries and schools with me, to promote literacy and making the world a better place. Yes, he is house trained, no, he doesn't live in my house! I have written three books about Clifford. But my newest book, THE NORTH SIDE OF DOWN, is co-written by my awesome sister Amanda, who has Down syndrome. Her unexpected one-liner wisecracks can always make me laugh. If you make me laugh, you've made my day!
This entry was posted in art, equine, horse, pastel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Today’s Equine Art – Ruffian

  1. Beautiful. I love the purple and blue, and how they make his head/neck come towards you.

    Like

  2. Nancy says:

    Thank you so much! That’s very kind of you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

