Fall Ride


Clifford and I took a nice little ride today around the neighbor’s fields. It’s downright balmy here, about mid-sixtys. He was feeling really good and actually did a couple of side steps. As usual, when I was tacking him up, he wanted to make out. I had to spend quite a bit of time today smooching with him. I didn’t do the cinch up tight enough and when I went to climb aboard, I pulled the saddle down. I was sliding down the side of him and he was stepping around in a circle. I told him to whoa and he did, standing still while I just hung there, grunting. He stood there while I finally struggled back up with some effort. You would think after spending 15 years with the same horse, I’d at least be able to get on by now. Oh well.

We had a wonderful time.

About Nancy J. Bailey

Artist, author, bad karaoke singer. Woodsy ragamuffin. Mom of a horse named Clifford who plays fetch and paints with watercolors. He visits libraries and schools with me, to promote literacy and making the world a better place. Yes, he is house trained, no, he doesn't live in my house! I have written three books about Clifford. But my newest book, THE NORTH SIDE OF DOWN, is co-written by my awesome sister Amanda, who has Down syndrome. Her unexpected one-liner wisecracks can always make me laugh. If you make me laugh, you've made my day!
This entry was posted in Clifford, horse, morgan. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fall Ride

  1. Eppie says:

    it’s beautiful horse!

    Like

  2. What a great photo of you two! Glad you had fun together. The world is a better place after a good ride.

    Like

  3. yedips says:

    Clifford looks like he adores you!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment