Jon Update

Well, yesterday I spoke to Jon for the first time in a couple of months. He was moved out of ICU on Thursday and at first was very forgetful and somewhat incoherent. He is too weak to even lift his arms. He’s undergoing physical therapy and yesterday he sat up for the first time. A couple of other family members called to talk to him, but I told Judy I’d wait until he asked for me.

Then yesterday he did! “Can you hear me?” he said. “I’m still alive, and kickin’!”

He started telling me he wanted to get a couple of horses and go trail riding with me up in the hills!

It was very emotional talking to him, but it was so great to hear his voice. He’s pretty frustrated with being bedridden, but the physical therapists report that he’s doing great.

Boy, what a good day yesterday was.

Thanks everyone for the positive thoughts. I am so grateful for everything.

About Nancy J. Bailey

Artist, author, bad karaoke singer. Woodsy ragamuffin. Mom of a horse named Clifford who plays fetch and paints with watercolors. He visits libraries and schools with me, to promote literacy and making the world a better place. Yes, he is house trained, no, he doesn't live in my house! I have written three books about Clifford. But my newest book, THE NORTH SIDE OF DOWN, is co-written by my awesome sister Amanda, who has Down syndrome. Her unexpected one-liner wisecracks can always make me laugh. If you make me laugh, you've made my day!
This entry was posted in Jon. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jon Update

  1. Nancy – This is great news- I hope you do both get to go trail riding. I think that “grateful” is in the air everywhere right now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

